through respect, understanding and individual, one community at a time.
Sister Cities Association of Wilmington
Promoting peace
P.O. Box 1865
Wilmington, NC 28402
Additional Links

Essay by Carolyn Cahill:
A 6th grade student and member of the Girls' Choir of Wilmington wrote this essay as they prepared for the concert

Daniel Pearl Tribute

World Peace Cookies Recipe

Word Search Peace Puzzle

2014 Daniel Pearl Peace through Music
Concert Wows Audience

Thank you to everyone who contributed to making our third Sister Cities peace concert an evening that won’t be forgotten anytime soon. The diversity of the program was symbolic of how music unites us no matter which city, country or continent we live in. The words, music and song spoke to the universal desire for a peaceful world where people of different races, religions and beliefs can co-exist. We thank everyone who attended to pay tribute to the ideals that Daniel Pearl stood for while alive, and of course, his love of music. We especially want to acknowledge each of the performing groups and individuals that shared their talents and love of community at the Basilica Shrine of Saint Mary on October 19:

Pat Marriott, Music Director WHQR
Forward Motion Dance Company, Tracey Varga Directo;, Jude Eden, accompanist 
Mayor Bill Saffo
Suzuki Violin School of Wilmington, Lorraine Westermark, Director, John Tabler, accompanist
Hannah Sellars, violinist, Hoggard High School Wilmington, NC
The Frog Project, Kevin Kolb, keyboardist; Teddy Burgh, flutist; Troy Pierce, percussionist; Ryan Woodall, bassist
Shantal Martin, soprano, Manhattan School of Music (hometown -Bridgetown, Barbados); Sara Bryant, accompanist  
Rabbi Paul Sidlofksy, Temple of Israel
Christina Brier, harpist Wilmington, NC
Linda Estep, violinist, Wilmington, NC
Si Cantwell, Star News
Wilmington Celebration Choir, Joey Gore, Director
GLOW Hand Mime Ministry, PJ Bolduc, Director
Pastor Philip Chryst, Wilmington, NC

Special thanks go to our host the Basilica Shrine of Saint Mary and the steering committee members: Sara Bryant, Marilyn Cantarella, Phil Davis, Amanda Greene, Pat Marriott, Suzanne Smith and Lorraine Westermark. 

The program included a slide show bringing attention to the names of journalists who died in 2013 while doing their job, without which basic human rights and the benefits of living in a free democracy would not be possible.  Only the names of those whose deaths have been investigated and confirmed by the Committee to Protect Journalists were included in the Journalists Memorial.  A special tribute and moment of silence was also made to recognize the American journalists and the British foreign aid worker recently executed in Syria – James Foley, Steven Sotloff and David Haines.

Photo Galleries
Click here to view photos from the October 2014 concert

Click here to view photos from the October 2012 concert   

“The press must be free from state interference. It must enjoy the protection of the Constitution so that it can protect our rights as citizens. A critical independent investigative press is the lifeblood of any democracy.”

                – Nelson Mandela
                   February 1994